Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 30th, 2008

There was a lot of news coming out of the San Diego Comic-Con, but of great interest to me was a bit of news that Newsarama reported only today, which is that Gold Key characters Magnus, Robot Fighter & Solar: Man of the Atom will be returning to the four-color page in all new adventures! According to Dark Horse President Mike Richardson:

We’ve been republishing collections of the Gold Key Magnus and Solar, Man of the Atom, books for a reason,” he said, backstage in the Dark Horse booth at the San Diego Comic Con. “When those are done, we’ll be coming out with new adventures.

To tell you the truth, I’m glad that Dark Horse has obtained the license for new adventures. I’ve long enjoyed their approach to comics and classic characters and despite my fondness for Valiant and the direction that it took the characters there for awhile, I’m looking forward to seeing what they can do. It’s the classic Magnus, Robot Fighter reprints by Russ Manning that first caught my eye years ago, and it was that version that has captured my imagination over the years (though I certainly enjoyed Shooter’s Magnus) so I’m hoping that Dark Horse can tap into that same sense of wonder and adventure of the original stories and create something new and compelling from there. As far as Solar is concerned, Valiant did a fantastic job with the character and that version will remain a favorite, but here again I’m excited about the prospect of seeing what DH can do based on the original Gold Key character, assumming they’re going that route. We have no real particulars here so there’s an awful lot that can help or hamper my enthusiasm between now and then but today…fantastic news on both fronts!

Now if only we could clone Steve Rude so he could illustrate both Magnus and Nexus!

Read Full Post »